compression

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• compression

ok, this one is for you motor gurus out there ,i have a 1941 u model that used to run great, all of the sudden it WILL NOT START for love nor money.has spark ,is getting fuel, and timing is right on the money . i want to do a compression test but i cannot find the proper compression in any of my manuals .can someone give me the range i should be looking for?, thanks in advance ,tom

compression tested at 48 lbs front cylinder 24lbs rear cylinder...dont know if i like those numbers as there are only 490 miles on the top end of this junk heap

Comment

I am no expert, but the fact that they are uneven is not what one would want on a new or old motor. Did you flood it real bad? The one that is 24lbs is barely enough to fire. I would put a little squirt of oil in each cylinder and try to start or test again. I did this to an FLH that sat 10 years and it fired up quick. Smoked for about 5 min after, runs great now. Always have good clean plugs. Good luck and keep us posted.

Comment

I'm thinking that your comp should be above 60.

So maybe your tollerances for pistons and valve guides were made too big upon build?

Just a thought. I've seen first hand that a little tighter tollerances can be used.

pull the heads and clean it up. Clean valve seats. Assem and retest. Running too rich, or blow by? Something to figure out. Let us know.

Comment

I would agree the compression should above 60, possibly closer to 100. IIRC compression figures should be not more than a 10%
          variance. Is it possible the valves are too tight?
          VPH-D

Comment