"H-D model b single distributor?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "H-D model b single distributor?

Does anyone have any photos of the distributor for a model b single? I have been creating a 3D CAD model of this motor in CATIA for many months using reverse engineering techniques but the distributor that I have is missing some parts. I need some photos to see what parts I need, what they look like and where they go.

Try posting your question on the DL45homepage website. I know Bruce Dunning reads it and he has tons of '26-'34 single parts.

Comment

The A and B Single circuit breaker appears to be the same as the distributor on the JD for 1926 (except the cap). The '27 and later is also the same as that of the later JD:s. but it has only one cam notch like the earlier JD distributors.
      Fiskis

Comment

how close is it to a 34 c model? got mine out at the moment

Comment

After 1929 this type circuit breaker was only used on the Singles. As there was not too many made, I do not think they changed the design after 1931 ( one notch cam and late JD plate & cap). The books always talk about the factory using up surplus parts.
          Yes, I'm sure the '34 is correct for '30. My 1935 parts book offers the same circuit breaker for 1918-29 JD and 1926-34 Singles. They obviously did not care to stock separate models anymore. So it is possible that late Singles had a lost spark feature as the Twins. On the outside there would not be any difference, though.
          If you mmoore put a picture of your '34 part in this thread, we'll be wiser.
          Fiskis

Comment

You'll come to some awful grief if you don't remember that the drive gear on a single is different to that on a twin, otherwise the timers are the same.
            The exact differences were in an article in a recent edition of the club magazine
            I can help you with a complete timer if you have no luck finding one closer to home

Tommo

Comment